Maine Workers' Compensation Requirements

All companies who employ one or more full or part-time employees are required by law to purchase workers’ compensation insurance in the state of Maine.

Sole-Proprietors, Partners and LLC Members are excluded from coverage, but can elect to be included for coverage.

Corporate Officers are automatically included in coverage, but they may elect to be excluded. To be excluded from coverage the officer must own at least 20 percent of the outstanding stock of a corporation.

Employers not required to carry coverage are those employers who have employees engaged in agriculture or aquaculture as seasonal or casual laborers, if the employer maintains at least $25,000 in employers liability insurance, with at least $5,000 in medical payments coverage.

Employers of six or fewer agricultural or aqua-cultural laborers are not required to carry coverage, if the employer maintains employers’ liability insurance of at least $100,000 multiplied by the number of full time employees and has at least $5,000 in medical payments coverage.

Employers of domestic servants in a private home are not required to carry coverage

Maine Workers' Compensation Forms

Maine First Report of Injury Form

Maine First Report of Injury Form. Employers should complete this form and send to their insurance company each time an injury occurs.

Maine Application for Exclusion of Officers and Stockholders

Complete this form if you are a sole-proprietor, partnership or an officer of a corporation and would like to be exempt from coverage.

Workers' Comp Exemptions in Maine

Sole-Proprietors and Partners who include themselves on workers’ compensation coverage must use a payroll amount of $44,600 for rating their overall workers’ compensation cost.

Corporate Officers and LLC Members who are included in coverage must utilize a minimum payroll of $44,200 annually and a maximum payroll of $176,800 per year for the purpose of rating workers’ comp premiums.

Workers' Comp Verification

The state of Maine provides a free online tool for verifying workers’ compensation insurance coverage. Anyone can search by business name or FEIN. The results will only show the business name and policy number for employers who have coverage in the state being searched. The information is managed by the Maine Workers’ Compensation Board.

How is Workers' Comp Calculated?

Workers’ compensation is a commercial insurance product categorized as Property & Casualty insurance (P&C Insurance). Even though workers’ comp is calculated using estimated payroll wages and class codes, premium is still a separate business expense from the cost of payroll. Maine Employers may treat the cost of coverage as an expense on their taxes.

Work comp rates for all job classification codes are always expressed as a percentage of $100 in wages. An annual policy is always subject to an audit because it was based on estimated wages and not actual wages

Here is an example using two class codes with different estimated payroll for each class code:

In order to calculate the cost of the policy you only need to multiply each rate with its divided payroll. It benefits employers to re-calculate their premium as their payroll becomes larger than originally anticipated.

Maine Workers' Compensation Insurance

Every state has their own laws to determine how employees must be covered and how they must be classified for rating premium. A lot of states use state specific class codes and have different requirements for who is obligated to carry workers’ compensation insurance

If you have employees that travel out of state for work, or they work in multiple states throughout the year, you may need to buy a policy for each of the states where your employees are located and working. In most cases, you can cover multiple states on one policy.

Workers’ Compensation Insurance in Maine can be purchased from private insurance companies authorized by the state to provide coverage. The Assigned Risk Pool, or an alternate State Insurance Fund, is available for businesses that are unable to find coverage from a private company. Our specialists help will help you navigate your best options.

Policy premium is based on numerous factors including: class codes assigned to your business and employees, estimated payroll, covered states, prior policies, owner experience and previous workers compensation claims.

What Does Maine Workers' Comp Cover?

washington-state-03

Maine workers’ compensation insurance helps pay claim expenses when an employee, or a covered sub-contractor, is injured while working for your business. It also shields your business from other legal liabilities associated with an injured employee. Work comp coverage includes:

Workers’ comp insurance pays for the medical expenses associated with claims or injured workers. The cost of an ER visit, required surgeries and drug prescriptions are some of the covered expenses included under a policy. An employee injured due to a slip and fall would be covered, for example. Coverage for medical benefits can also include longer term expenses such as physical therapy or rehabilitation.

Most business owners can’t afford to continue paying employees if they are unable to work while they are injured. Workers’ comp income benefits in Maine will replace most of your employees missing income if they are away from work due to an injury or illness. For example, if a construction employee broke his arm and could not perform the job for 8 weeks, the coverage would make payments to the employee to help replace the lost wages

Sometimes an injury can cause a partial disability or a more permanent disability. Workers’ compensation steps in to help pay the cost of ongoing medical bills and may even replace a portion of wages lost due to the disability. If an employee had a finger amputated due to a work related injury. The employee could be paid a sum (known as an Impairment Rating) for the loss of the finger for permanent disability as well as some temporary disability coverage while recuperating.

Some types of work environments can include occupational exposures that have unforeseen circumstances. A chemical mixing operation, for example, may expose employees to chemical irritants and cause harmful reactions that make them sick. A workers’ comp policy would cover the cost of treating an illness caused while performing the job.

Nearly 50,000 deaths happen at work each year. Many of these are in the construction and trucking industries. A workers’ compensation policy is designed to cover the cost of these funerals and to provide death benefits to the employees family. State guidelines often determine the dollar amount of coverage

Workers’ compensation coverage is a No-Fault system designed to prevent costly employee lawsuits related to on-the-job-injuries. Many state provisions include Exclusive Remedy rules that protect covered businesses from these lawsuits in exchange for providing workers’ comp coverage for their employees. Claims should be reported to a supervisor with 30 days. Employers should also report any claims or accidents to their insurance company within 30 days from notification

How Does Workers' Comp Work?

Workers' comp coverage protects employees when injured. It makes good financial sense for both parties.

Injuries and accidents happen. A workers’ comp policy is a no-fault system that pays for these accidents and claims. It’s required by law in most states.

Coverage does not protect employers from everything. Sometimes employees and employers can be negligent.

In some instances, workers’ compensation coverage will not protect employers or employees from the legal liability resulting from a workplace injury.